IND vs NZ: Rohit Sharma Confirms New Batting Position For Ishan Kishan

Last updated:

After finishing the 3-match ODI series on a high, the Indian cricket team is now gearing up for their next assignment, which is a limited-over series against New Zealand, starting from Wednesday. Wicketkeeper-batter Ishan Kishan will make his comeback in India’s playing XI, however, in a different role.

Yes, ahead of the series, Indian captain Rohit Sharma confirmed that Ishan, who was not picked for any of the ODIs against Sri Lanka, will get a run but in a different batting position. Ishan Kishan had to miss the 3-match ODI series against Sri Lanka despite scoring the fastest double-century in ODI history against Bangladesh in the previous series. Shubman Gill was preferred ahead of Ishan to open the innings alongside skipper Rohit Sharma. Shubman made the most of his opportunities in the Sri Lanka series, scoring 70, 21, and 116.

Ishan Kishan dropped from 1st ODI: 'Always considered myself as someone who  can play one-day cricket' | Sports News,The Indian Express

While no changes in the opening combination are expected against the Black Caps, however, KL Rahul’s absence from the squad has created a slot for Ishan, who is also expected to keep wickets for India. Rohit confirmed that Ishan will be batting in the middle-order. 

“Ishan will be batting middle-order, I’m glad that he can get a run here after a fine knock against Bangladesh,” the captain said on Tuesday.

Notably, Ishan Kishan has batted in the middle order three times in his career of 10 ODIs, so it won’t be difficult for him. 

Meanwhile, the  Indian cricket team will be without the services of KL Rahul and Shreyas Iyer in the ODI series against New Zealand. KS Bharat, who is the second keeper-batter in the squad, is likely to warm the bench.

India’s updated ODI squad against New Zealand: Rohit Sharma (Captain), Shubman Gill, Ishan Kishan (wk), Virat Kohli, Suryakumar Yadav, KS Bharat (wk), Hardik Pandya (vice-captain), Rajat Patidar, Washington Sundar, Shahbaz Ahmed, Shardul Thakur, Yuzvendra Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav, Mohd. Shami, Mohd. Siraj, Umran Malik.