CSK Captain: Suresh Raina Reveals The Name Who Will Replace MS Dhoni

Last updated:

Mahendra Dhoni, the captain of the Chennai Super Kings, has already begun their training camp there. The opening game for CSK is scheduled for March 31.

The first game of the 2023 Indian Premier League between the reigning champion Gujarat Titans (GT) and Chennai Super Kings (CSK) is set for March 31 in Ahmedabad. Mahendra Singh Dhoni, the captain of the Chennai Super Kings, has already begun their training camp there. Ben Stokes, a well-known all-rounder from England, was bought by the team in a fierce bidding war, and many believe he will succeed MS Dhoni as the team’s future captain.

Despite this, Suresh Raina, a former CSK superstar and one of the IPL‘s greatest players, says that Ruturaj Gaikwad may be Dhoni’s most likely replacement when he inevitably stands down or quits the competition. Gaikwad made his CSK debut in the 2020 competition, and in the following year he had a breakout year, earning the Orange Cap with 635 runs in 16 games, including his maiden tournament century and four half-centuries. Gaikwad was essential to CSK’s victory in the season’s championship game.

“I want Ruturaj Gaikwad to be nurtured around him. Mahi bhai has a good brain, he’s around the boys. I would say Ruturaj Gaikwad, he has done really well, I want him to do well for the country as well as for CSK. Rutu, good luck with your captaincy, brother,” Raina said during a discussion on JioCinema.

Chennai Super Kings squad for IPL 2023

MS Dhoni (c), Devon Conway, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Ambati Rayudu, Subhranshu Senapati, Moeen Ali, Shivam Dube, Rajvardhan Hangargekar, Dwaine Pretorius, Mitchell Santner, Ravindra Jadeja, Tushar Deshpande, Mukesh Chowdhary, Matheesha Pathirana, Simarjeet Singh, Deepak Chahar, Prashant Solanki, Maheesh Theekshana, Ajinkya Rahane, Ben Stokes, Shaik Rasheed, Nishant Sindhu, Kyle Jamieson, Ajay Mandal, Bhagath Varma.


Chennai Super Kings IPL 2023 schedule

  • Match 1: March 31, 2023 – Gujarat Titans vs Chennai Super Kings, Ahmedabad (7:30 PM IST)
  • Match 2: April 3, 2023 – Chennai Super Kings vs Lucknow Super Giants, Chennai (7:30 PM IST)
  • Match 3: April 8, 2023 – Mumbai Indians vs Chennai Super Kings, Mumbai (7:30 PM IST)
  • Match 4: April 12, 2023 – Chennai Super Kings vs Rajasthan Royals, Chennai (7:30 PM IST)
  • Match 5: April 17, 2023: Royal Challengers Bangalore vs Chennai Super Kings, Bengaluru (7:30 PM IST)
  • Match 6: April 21, 2023: Chennai Super Kings vs Sunrisers Hyderabad, Chennai (7:30 PM IST)
  • Match 7: April 23, 2023: Kolkata Knight Riders vs Chennai Super Kings, Kolkata (7:30 PM IST)
  • Match 8: April 27, 2023 – Rajasthan Royals vs Chennai Super Kings, Jaipur (7:30 PM IST)
  • Match 9: April 30, 2023 – Chennai Super Kings vs Punjab Kings, Chennai (3:30 PM IST)
  • Match 10: May 4, 2023 – Lucknow Super Giants vs Chennai Super Kings, Lucknow (3:30 PM IST)
  • Match 11: May 6, 2023 – Chennai Super Kings vs Mumbai Indians, Chennai (3:30 PM IST)
  • Match 12: May 10, 2023: Chennai Super Kings vs Delhi Capitals, Chennai (7:30 PM IST)
  • Match 13: May 14, 2023: Chennai Super Kings vs Kolkata Knight Riders, Chennai (7:30 PM IST)
  • Match 14: May 20, 2023: Delhi Capitals vs Chennai Super Kings, Delhi (3:30 PM IST)