david warner

IPL 2023 – David Warner Expresses His Love For Rishabh Pant

Last updated:

IPL 2023: DC Captain David Warner leaves heartfelt message for Rishabh Pant:

David Warner, the recently chosen captain of Delhi Capitals (DC), has sent a meaningful and valuable message to Rishabh Pant, who will regrettably not take part in the upcoming IPL 2023 season. In addition to wishing Pant a swift recovery, Warner stated that the team is eager to win the Indian Premier League championship without him.

Importantly, on December 30, Rishabh Pant was involved in a car accident while driving back to his house to spend the New Year with his family. The batsman sustained multiple injuries when his Mercedes crashed into the highway divider on the Delhi-Dehradun route. Before being admitted to the Max Hospital in Dehradun, he was quickly brought to hospitals for first care.

Warner acknowledged that the DC have big shoes to fill in the Indian League 2023, but the team is driven to succeed.

“We are motivated every season, but we are motivated even more to lift the title this year in your absence. We are going to be on the journey of your recovery with you. We are going to send some special messages and hopefully, you can come to one of our games,” Warner said in a statement issued by the franchise. “On behalf of the DC family, I would like to wish you all the best and a speedy recovery.”

Warner’s second task as the Indian Premier League franchise’s captain will be this one. The Australian hitter previously led Sunrisers Hyderabad from 2015 to 2020 as team captain. Also, he guided SRH to its lone Indian League championship win in 2016. However, Warner’s career hit a bad turn in 2021, costing him both his position as captain and his berth in the playing 11, and Warner was ultimately cut loose from the SRH team.

To everyone’s astonishment, (DC) selected Warner in the Indian Premier League 2022 super auctions for a great price.

All-rounder Axar Patel has been selected as he team’s vice-captain for the Indian Premier League 2023 season, joining Warner as the team’s captain.

As the excitement builds up, former cricketers and commentators are sharing their favourite teams for the upcoming season. Joining in, former India pacer S Sreesanth has picked Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) to win the trophy this year.

“I am honoured to be named captain of the Capitals alongside Axar being elected vice-captain,” the opening batter continued. We have high expectations.

On April 1st at the Bharat Ratna Shri Atal Bihari Vajpayee Ekana Cricket Stadium in Lucknow, (DC) will face off against Lucknow Super Giants (LSG).

DC Squad for Premier League 2023: David Warner (c), Axar Patel (vc), Prithvi Shaw, Sarfaraz Khan, Ripal Patel, Rovman Powell, Yash Dhull, Anrich Nortje, Mitchell Marsh, Lalit Yadav, Chetan Sakariya, Kamlesh Nagarkoti, Mustafizur Rahman, Khaleel Ahmed, Lungi Ngidi, Aman Khan, Kuldeep Yadav, Ishant Sharma, Praveen Dubey, Vicky Ostwal, Manish Pandey, Phil Salt, Mukesh Kumar, Rilee Rossouw.